Learn More RAS

Prev 1 of 2 Next
Prev 1 of 2 Next

The Conservation Fund’s Freshwater Institute is a world-leading research facility in land-based RAS technologies. They provide free public access to all trade publications and formal journal articles covering their work and results from research. 

RASTECH Magazine has a digital edition of its quarterly magazine, which covers the latest global developments in land-based RAS. The magazine is a resource for RAS owners and operators, but it can be accessed by anyone interested in following global trends and learning some of the more technical aspects of RAS. 

RAS Talk the Podcast: RAS Talk the Podcast is co-hosted by Dr. Brian Vinci, Director of the Freshwater Institute, and Catarina Muia, Editor of RASTECH Magazine and Hatchery International. Focused on highlighting current issues and trends in land-based RAS with industry leaders. 

The Southern Regional Aquaculture Center (SRAC) is one of several regional centers designed to provide extension and research needs in aquaculture. At this time, SRAC is the only regional center with fact sheets on recirculating aquaculture systems, but links to individual centers have been provided under “Agencies, Aquaculture Centers, and Associations.”

The Maine Aquaculture Association has published a number of industry-informed occupational standards for several aquaculture sectors in Maine, including land-based production. Although Maine-centric, it highlights skill needs that are applicable to specific industries regardless of region. 

For those with some spending money who are interested in some of the more technical aspects of RAS, the Recirculating Aquaculture textbook can be purchased from Amazon.

National Aquaculture Association

Maine Aquaculture Association

Wisconsin Aquaculture Association

NOAA Office of Aquaculture

USDA Aquaculture

Aquaculture Regional Centers

North Central Regional Aquaculture Center: NCRAC represents aquaculture in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Northeastern Regional Aquaculture Center: NRAC represents aquaculture in Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and West Virginia.

Southern Regional Aquaculture Center: SRAC represents aquaculture in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands and Virginia.

Western Regional Aquaculture Center: WRAC represents aquaculture in Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.